Sonata 21


  • Composer: Pezel
  • Instrumentation: Tenpiece Brass
SKU: DJ003PDF Category:


This is a custom 10-part (4 trumpets, 1 horn, 4 trombones/euphoniums, and tuba) arrangement, completed by Daniel Jones, of “Sonata 21” from Johann Christoph Pezel’s Hora decima musicorum Lipsiensium. The original five-part, 1670 publication was listed in a-minor; however, it’s been transposed to e-minor in for this addition. This work would have likely been played as “Towermusic” in Leipzig by zincs and sackbuts, forerunners to the trumpet and trombone. Adagio was listed for the tempo. For chamber music performances Pezel created string arrangements of the sonatas from Hora decima.

Additional information




Tenpiece Brass