Locus iste (Brass Quintet)


  • Composer: Bruckner
  • Instrumentation: Brass Quintet
SKU: BWBE090 Category:


Locus iste WAB 23 is a sacred motet composed by Anton Bruckner in 1869. The text is the Latin gradual Locus iste for the annual celebration of a church’s dedication. Bruckner set it for four unaccompanied voices, intended for the dedication of the Votivkapelle (votive chapel) at the New Cathedral in Linz, Austria, where Bruckner had been a cathedral organist. It was the first motet that Bruckner composed in Vienna.

As a composition with no obvious technical difficulty, it has been performed by church choirs and by professionals, often to celebrate church dedications. Here it has been arranged for brass quintet by Rob Bushnell.


  • 1st Cornet/Trumpet in Bb
  • 2nd Cornet/Trumpet in Bb
  • Horn in Fb
  • Tenor Horn in Eb*
  • Trombone/Euphonium (B.C.)b
  • Trombone/Euphonium in Bb (T.C.)*
  • Tuba (B.C.)b
  • Eb Bass/Tuba (T.C.)*
  • Bb Bass/Tuba (T.C.)*

*Alternative Parts

Additional information

Weight 14 oz



Brass Quintet