March – El Capitan


  • Composer: Sousa
  • Instrumentation: Brass Sextet
SKU: BWBE065 Category:


The third in ‘The March King Collection’ featuring four of John Philip Sousa’s most popular marches transcribed for brass sextet, El Capitan was originally an operetta by John Philip Sousa which was first produced in Boston in 1896. It was initially very popular and there are occasional revivals even to this day. The march of the same title uses themes from the opera and was also published in 1896. One notable feature – resulting from the use of themes from the operetta – is the abrupt transition from 6/8 to 2/4 half way through the march.


  • Part 1 – Cornet/Trumpet in Bb
  • Part 2 – Cornet/Trumpet in Bb
  • Part 3 – Horn (includes parts in Eb & F)
  • Part 4 – Trombone (includes bass clef & Bb treble clef parts)
  • Part 5 – Euphonium (includes bass clef & Bb treble clef parts)
  • Part 6 – Tuba (includes bass clef & Eb and Bb treble clef parts)
  • Percussion – optional

Additional information

Weight 14 oz



Brass Sextet